- Boating Ordinance
What am I required to have to boat at Lake Hastings?
All boaters at Lake Hastings are required to have current state registration, liability insurance, and a Lake Hastings boat permit for their motorboat. Any person who operates a motorboat on Lake Hastings must have proof of successful completion of an approved Nebraska Boaters Safety Course or its equivalent.
Do I need to carry the card?
You are required to carry proof of completion any time you are operating a motorboat on Lake Hastings, and show it to any law enforcement officer upon request. The cards issued in Nebraska are designed to be waterproof.
When is the course scheduled?
I’ve been boating for years, do I have to sit through the class?
No. Experienced boaters 18 and older who wish to "challenge" the exam may do so. You may take the test during the times outlined to the left. If you pass, you will be issued a card. If you do not pass, you will be asked to take the entire course. Study materials are available from Game and Parks. Those required by state law to take the course must take the entire course.
Why was this change made?
Boating Education has been proven to reduce accidents and increase safety across the nation. We believe that this ordinance will improve safety and reduce user conflicts at Lake Hastings.
Have the age limits changed?
No. City Ordinance still requires boaters to be 16 to operate any boat over 10 horsepower, and 14 to operate any boat under 10 horsepower. Operators who are 14 or 15 may operate a motorboat under direct supervision of an adult at least 21 years of age.
Does the City of Hastings have a curfew?
Yes. Youth under 16 years old cannot be out from 11:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m. Sunday through Thursday, and from 12 midnight to 6:00 a.m. Friday and Saturday.
Here is the full text of the ordinances:
18-137. Curfew; imposed; exceptions.
It shall be unlawful for any person under the age of 16 years to loiter, idle, wander, stroll, play or be in or upon the public streets, public places, public buildings, places of amusement and entertainment, vacant lots or other unsupervised places, or to ride in or upon, drive or otherwise operate, any bicycle or other vehicle, in, upon, over or through said streets or other public places or unsupervised places of the City on Sunday through Thursday of each week between the hours of 11:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. of the following day, and on Fridays and Saturdays between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 6:00 a.m. of the following day, unless such person is accompanied by a parent, guardian, or other adult person having the legal care and custody of such minor person, or unless such minor person is upon an emergency errand or legitimate business as directed by his or her parent, guardian or legal custodian, except as hereinafter provided.
(Ord. No. 2862)
18-138. Curfew; duty of parents.
It shall be unlawful for the parent, guardian, or other person having the care and custody of a minor person under the age of 16 years to allow or permit such minor person to do any of the things or acts prohibited by Section 18-137 of this Chapter on Sunday through Thursday of each week between the hours of 11:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. of the following day, and on Fridays and Saturdays between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 6:00 a.m. of the following day, unless the minor is accompanied by his or her parent, guardian or other adult person having the legal care and custody of the minor, or unless said minor is upon an emergency errand or legitimate business, as directed by his or her parent, guardian or legal custodian.
Should I call 911 to report everything to the Police Department?
911 is for reporting emergencies only. Use 461-2380 to contact the HPD business office or 461-2364 to contact the 911 Center on a non-emergency line. Visit the 911 page for more information.
What can I do about abandoned vehicles on my street?
Report abandoned vehicles to 461-2388. Visit the Parking Control page for more information.
Vehicles can not be parked on public streets for over 72 hours without being used. Violators can be ticketed and towed. Vehicles left on private property are considered abandoned after 7 days and can be towed at the expense of the owner.
Where can I get bike licenses? How much are they?
Bike licenses are available for free at the Hastings Police Department, 317 S Burlington Avenue, Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m to 12:00 p.m and 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. Please bring your bike with you or your bike information, including make, model, and serial number.
Hastings City Code requires bike licenses on all bikes operated in the City of Hastings. The licenses also provide excellent protection from theft and make it easy for the police to return recovered bikes to the owners. Each year the department auctions off over 100 unclaimed bikes with no licenses.
Where can I get dog or cat licenses?
Animal licenses are available at the Hastings Police Department, or by mailing a check or money order payable to the "City of Hastings" to the Hastings Police Department, 317 S Burlington Avenue, Hastings, NE. 68901. Your license will then be mailed to you.
Animal licenses are required on all cats and dogs kept within the City of Hastings. License Fees are as follows:
- One Year license $11.00
- One Year for spayed or neutered animals $8.50
- One Year Senior Citizen (55+) $10.00
- Three Year License $28.50
- Three Year for spayed or neutered animals $21.00
- Three Year for Senior Citizens $25.00
- Late Fees (From April 01 to December 31) $10 per month per animal
- Replacement Licenses $1.50
Where can I ride my motorized skateboard?
Motorized skateboards, which are gaining popularity in our area, are prohibited from being operated on the street by numerous state laws. In addition, City Code prohibits the riding of ANY motorized vehicle on a city sidewalk.
Motorized skateboards, like golf carts, go-carts, riding lawnmowers, and other such vehicles can ONLY be used on private property. If you choose to ride a motorized skateboard on a city street you could face fines up to $1000. If you choose to ride on a city sidewalk you could face fines up to $100.
Hastings, NE 68901